As I get older the more I realize my experiences are far from unique. Every time I think, was it me or does this only happen to me I learn that it’s common and that folks just don’t talk about it. Why? I have no idea. Maybe it’s the sheer futility of the situation. Like saying the sun is bright or water is wet. Not shocking news.

Case in point, I’ve been swapping emails with this one person over the last couple of weeks. Suddenly, she just vanishes. Her profile is marked hidden and not a word or idea of where she went. I shall name thee, Flake.

What, was asking, “How was your day?” Suddenly way too intrusive? Or did she meet someone and decide I’m done with everyone else. Did she get taken by an unexpected Spanish Inquisition? I didn’t even know her name.

I’m learning, maybe slowly, that I shouldn’t care either way. After all, what was she but a photo and a series of electronic squiggles we call language.

Leave a Reply

