I remember the days when I was in college and single at the time. That was when I wrote my novel. I churned out the raw manuscript of 40,000 words in just under 35 days sitting on the hard seats of a local coffee shop. As I look back at all my writing surges, as they truly are surges, I think they happen more when I am single.

Freed from the distractions of a relationship, multiple lines of consciousness stream and mix to twist up new ideas. I guess if I truly want to become a professional writer I better find a way to balance the two or be doomed to remain single. Now, if I met another writer to date…

Leave a Reply

