Metacognition is a fancy word that means being aware of and able to understand your own thought process.

I’ve had Obsessive Compulsive Disorder or OCD tendencies for as long as I can remember and through the years I’ve learned to control it. For me the key to stopping it is to realize that it was happening and this is where metacognition comes into play.

The worse part is the counting. The endless counting over and over, 1234, 1234, 1234. The mind gets stuck in rut and counting becomes like a mantra, though for what, I don’t know.

The metacognition steps in and I hear myself say, “Stop it!” The counting stops, though the urge to continue takes a few moments to fade back into the nothingness from which it came.

Leave a Reply

